a.dash.of.sprinkles

cupcakes & wishes. my two favorite things.

Whaaaat??

on June 11, 2012

I’ve spent lots of time online looking up fun, new (mostly cupcake) recipes and sometimes it takes more than a few times until I find the perfect recipe, so I wanted to be able to share some of my delicious outside-the-box recipes!  I can’t cook, so you probably won’t find anything for dinner here, but I will have you covered for dessert.

Volunteering with the Alaska and Washington chapter of Make-A-Wish is also a passion for me.  I began my involvement as an intern, and then a volunteer.  After much persistence and many interviews, I have now been on staff for a couple of years.  However, being a wish granting volunteer is still a very important role to me and meeting wish families reminds me why I do what I do.  I’m frequently asked if its hard doing what I do and dealing with sick kids.  My answer is that I try not to think about them being sick.  I try my best to just plan something fun and exciting for each of my wish kids.  Most of the time, I can’t even tell that they look sick, because I don’t know what they looked like before they lost their hair or their face got puffy from their treatments.  Each of my wish kids holds a special place in my heart.  That being said, I have also spent many hours trying to come up with unique ways to make each of my wish kiddos feel special.  They might all wish to go meet Mickey at a Disney theme park, but I always try to do something special and different for each kiddo.  It’s safe to say that Make-A-Wish is truly one of my passions and I am thrilled to share all of my excitement with you!

My Make-A-Wish partner in crime. We love what we do.
P.S. The costumes were her idea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

