a.dash.of.sprinkles

cupcakes & wishes. my two favorite things.

Aloha!

on August 3, 2013

I realized I’m due for a vacay to Hawaii this year.  I went for the first time in 2009 and then again in 2011.  I just sorta got used to going every two years and I’m sad this year I won’t be there.IMG_0959

Hawaii is the one place where its HOT and I don’t complain.  Well, don’t complain much.  And I get to hang out with Tiff.  Hee-san, we need to see each other more than just every couple of years.  🙂

ja9 & tiff up close

Miss you, Hee-san.

I also miss the food of Hawaii and well, the other people of Hawaii. 😉

Hawaiian McDonalds 20111021142417

 

Because of my recent Hawaii withdrawals, I decided to make guava cupcakes for Raeya’s non-Blue Angels party.  I tried many different recipes but they never turned out quite right.  Until Raeya sent me a recipe from her friend.  It was PERFECT.  The trick is to use concentrated guava juice.  As in leave a tube of Hawaii’s Own juice on the counter.  Genius!  There will be a little bit of concentrated juice left over in the tube, so just mix it with a little water to make unconcentrated juice for the gel.  I was so into it, I even listened to my Hawaiian playlist while I baked.  But its slim pickin’s.

Don't judge me.  This is a cute soundtrack.

Don’t judge me. This is a cute soundtrack.

Guava Cupcakes

Cake:IMG_7586
1 (18 oz.) package Duncan Hines yellow cake mix
1 1/3 C thawed concentrated guava juice (Hawaii’s Own)
3 eggs
1/3 C vegetable oil
red food coloring
*doesn’t have to be Duncan Hines.  Use amount of oil and eggs listed on the box.  Replace the water with the concentrated guava juice.

Frosting:
1 ½ (8 oz.) package cream cheese, softened
½ C sugar
1 ½ t vanilla
1 ½ (8 oz.) container Cool Whip, thawed

Guava Topping:
1 C prepared (unconcentrated) guava juice
¼ C sugar
1/8 C cornstarch

Make the cake according to cake mix directions, replacing the water with thawed concentrated guava juice. Add red food dye until the batter is a pink color.

IMG_7595

I think this was after about 6 drops of red food coloring.

Line a muffin tin with liners and bake according to box. It may take a few minutes longer to bake because of the guava juice in the cake.

For the frosting, beat cream cheese with hand mixer until fluffy. Beat in sugar and vanilla. Slowly fold in the Cool Whip and let it sit in the refrigerator for 30 minutes to become more stiff.

For the guava topping, make a paste out of the cornstarch and a small amount of water. It should be more of a liquid than a paste.IMG_7606

Add guava juice and sugar to a sauce pan, heat until it boils.

Remove guava juice from heat and stir in the cornstarch mixture. Return to heat and bring back to a boil. Pour into a separate bowl and let it cool in refrigerator. If your cornstarch mixture made clumps in the topping then just separate it with a strainer.

Add a thin layer of frosting on top of the cupcakes and pipe a swirl border around the top to hold the guava topping in place.    Spoon the guava topping onto the cake and spread it around the top.

      IMG_7610     IMG_7612

I think its safe to say the guava cupcakes were a hit.  Raeya and Yvette seemed to enjoy them. 🙂

        IMG_7619    IMG_7617

IMG_7616

You actually made it through this entire blog post?!  Mahalo!

You actually made it through this entire blog post?! Mahalo!

One response to “Aloha!

  1. Hee says:

    I love this! I didn’t know you blogged:). And I feel special because I got a shoutout and a pic:0P. Haha. I miss you! Please come to hawaii again soon!

Leave a Reply

