a.dash.of.sprinkles

cupcakes & wishes. my two favorite things.

Punkins!

on October 22, 2013

I’m a crafty girl, not a practical girl.  So I’m not sure why in my mind, decorating (ie: paint and glitter) pumpkins would be less messy than carving them.  Wrong-o.

IMG_7780

Looks like the tooth fairy sneezed on my pumpkin.

Cortney, Julianne and I decided to have an impromptu craft day because we were feeling festive and wanted to decorate some pumpkins.

IMG_7779     IMG_7781

Cortney tried to paint her pumpkin neon pink which turned out just looking like a bright (normal) pumpkin.  So she decided to bling it up with some old jewels we had leftover from her Bachelorette Party.

IMG_7775Julianne pained a cool design on hers and realized after she was done that maybe she should have painted top green.  I think it was pretty cool with the colors she used.

IMG_7791    IMG_7794

I love me some glitter.  So its no surprise I glitter-ed my pumpkins.

IMG_7787

This was my Pringles guy pumpkin and his faceless wife.

In honor of our punkin day, I also made Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread.  I needed to test the recipe before a Halloween party but I don’t like pumpkin, so I made it in hopes that Cortney and Julianne would be my taste testers.

IMG_7768

Ignore the baking powder and use baking soda as the recipe calls for.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread
3 C white sugar
1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
1 C vegetable oil
2/3 C water
4 eggs
3 1/2 C all-purpose flour
1 T ground cinnamon
1 T ground nutmeg
2 t baking soda
1 1/2 t salt
1 C miniature semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour three 1 pound  three 9×5 inch loaf pans.  I only had 2 big loaf pans, so I also used 3 small loaf pans to replace one big one.

IMG_7769

In a large bowl, combine sugar, pumpkin, oil, water, and eggs. Beat until smooth. Blend in flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt. Fold in chocolate chips and nuts. Fill loaf pans 1/2 to 3/4 full.

Bake for 1 hour, or until an inserted knife comes out clean. Cool on wire racks before removing from cans or pans.

IMG_7772

 

 

 

 

I don’t like pumpkin.  Actually I figured out, I think I don’t like nutmeg.  It was pretty though and Cortney said it was a good recipe, so I’ll take her word for it. 🙂

IMG_7783

Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

