a.dash.of.sprinkles

cupcakes & wishes. my two favorite things.

Go Hawks! (No I’m Not A Bandwagon Fan)

on February 3, 2014

In case you didn’t know, I am NOT a football girl.  Baseball, yes.  Soccer, for SURE.

46627_980267688638_10725174_52211445_4895820_n     V__2F4B

However, my Dad goes on these weird kicks and he decided this year to be obsessed with the Seahawks.  It started even before their season started.  Unfortunately for him, I am the closest thing he has to a son, so I tried really hard to be excited whenever he talked about them.  I tried to pretend to be excited when he invited me over to watch the games and when he tried talking about players (I only knew of Wilson, Lynch, and Sherman because they were great wish-granters).  I didn’t really get into it until they made it to the playoffs.

Now before you jump down my throat and call me a bandwagon fan, let me tell you why I am NOT a bandwagon fan.  Even though they won the Super Bowl, I could still care less about football.  I think its a ridiculous game and if a 260 pound man was chasing me for a football, I’d happily hand it over to him.  However, I am PROUD of what the Seahawks have done for Seattle and for all they accomplished this year, even if I don’t understand it all.

My favorite part of the Super Bowl was the food…that’s a given right?  We sorta skipped Chinese New Year so we incorporated that into our Super Bowl food.

IMG_7909

Jello, spam musubi, roast, barbeque ribs, broccoli salad, chow mein, and cupcakes! What a feast!

I was in charge of the cupcakes.  And naturally I had to make them 12th man themed.  I was so into the theme, I even used blue and green baking utensils!  This is normally a red velvet recipe, but I substituted the red for green.  I don’t recommend blue.  It turns out a dark teal that is ugly.

IMG_7905

This is Earl Thomas IV with a 12th Man Cupcake!

12th Man Cupcakes (aka Green Velvet Cupcakes)
2 ½ C all-purpose flourIMG_7848
1 ½ C sugar
1 t baking soda
1 t salt
1 t cocoa powder
1 ½ C vegetable oil
1 C buttermilk, room temperature
2 large eggs, room temperature
2 T green food coloring
1 t white distilled vinegar
1 t vanilla extract

Cream Cheese Frosting:

1 lb. cream cheese, softened
2 sticks butter, softened
1 t vanilla extract
4 C sifted confectioners’ sugar

IMG_7887Preheat the oven to 350°. Line 2 (12-cup) muffin pans with cupcake papers.

In a medium mixing bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder. In a large bowl gently beat together the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food coloring, vinegar, and vanilla with a handheld electric mixer. Add the sifted dry ingredients to the wet and mix until smooth and thoroughly combined.

Divide the batter evenly among the cupcake tins about 2/3 filled.  *In case you didn’t know, an ice-cream scooper is the most awesome trick to making sure the batter is evenly distributed in your cupcake liners!  Bake in oven for about 20 to 22 minutes, turning the pans once, half way through. Test the cupcakes with a toothpick for doneness. Remove from oven and cool completely before frosting.

IMG_7893    IMG_7896

For the Cream Cheese Frosting:
In a large mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, butter and vanilla together until smooth. Add the sugar and on low speed, beat until incorporated. Increase the speed to high and mix until very light and fluffy.

IMG_7899   IMG_7917

IMG_7913    IMG_7914

IMG_7915

Marissa has always been a sugar fiend, but I think its safe to say that the 12th Man Cupcakes were a “hit!” Har har har.

All in all, I’m proud of the Seahawks (although I’m still not a football fan) and I’m relieved the Super Bowl wasn’t a nail biter.  And I’m sure my Dad is glad he doesn’t have to explain the game to us anymore.  Let’s put it this way…my Mom’s favorite play of the Super Bowl was the “pitch” at the beginning that went over Manning’s head and when Harvin ran all the way to the “touchdown zone.”  I’m not even that bad.  I knew it was “hiked” over Manning’s head (which is still wrong, but at least I had the sport) and that Harvin ran it into the end zone.  I’m pretty sure I’ll forget it all by next year.  I’m ready for Spring.  Bring on the Sounders and Mariners!

322

Leave a Reply

