a.dash.of.sprinkles

cupcakes & wishes. my two favorite things.

Takin’ Requests

on May 10, 2014

I’m pretty sure I have 2 maybe even 3 blog readers.  It’s a bit delayed, but this blog post is at the request of one of these two…HEE-SAN!  This is also in honor of her upcoming trip to Seattle this Fall.  Yup, I’m officially announcing it.  She told me this week that she’s planning to come up here, so I’m hoping that if its written down, it will actually happen. 🙂

I'm pretty sure both of you appreciate me posting this pic.

I’m pretty sure both of you appreciate me posting this pic.

She thinks that if she keeps sending me postcards from the paradise that she is lucky enough to call HOME, she can bribe me into visiting her.  Welp, its working.  If it wasn’t for that darn, pesky thing called MONEY, I’d totally be there.

IMG_8005

I have to say, we’ve had some adventures, both in Seattle and in Hawaii.

nihongo no tomodachi2

Our Nihongo group. That basically meant us girls relied on the boys for the answers whenever we got called on.

ja9 & tiff up close    ja9 & tiff in waikiki

ja9 giving tiff a kiss

Weird crotch art. We thought it would be funny to take pics underneath it.

ja9, mitsuye, tiff @ waterfront  ja9 & tiff

Tiff suggested I make Chocolate Mint Cupcakes, so I decided to try it for Easter.  Pretty delish!  They tasted like thin mints!

Chocolate Mint Cupcakes

  • 8 Tbsp (1 stick, 4 ounces) unsalted butterIMG_8007
  • 1/2 cup Dutch processed cocoa
  • 2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons peppermint extract
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Buttercream Frosting

  • 8 Tbsp butter, room temperature (1 stick, 4 ounces)
  • 1 Tbsp milk
  • 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract
  • 2 cups powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350°F. Prepare a muffin tin by lining it with cupcake liners.

IMG_8009Use a double boiler or add an inch or two of water to a medium sized saucepan and place a metal bowl over it, bringing the water to a simmer. Add butter (cut into chunks), chocolate, cocoa to the bowl. As the butter and chocolate melt, whisk until the ingredients are well combined and smooth. Remove from heat and let cool to touch.

In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, and baking powder.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs. Add the salt, the sugar, the mint extract and beat until well combined. Slowly add in the chocolate butter mixture and beat until combined.

Add in half of the sifted flour mixture, mix to combine. Mix in the sour cream. Mix in the remaining flour mixture.

Spoon the batter evenly into the lined muffin cups. Place in oven in middle rack. Bake for 18-20 minutes, until tops spring back when touched and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

IMG_8013

Let cool in muffin tin on a rack for 15 minutes. Then gently remove cupcakes from the tin and let cool completely before frosting.

Mix all ingredients for frosting. Garnish with a little fresh mint.

IMG_8020   IMG_8021

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

tiff & ja9 @ waterfront2

 

 

 

Hee-san, I can’t wait to see you this fall!  We have so much catching up to do!

 

 

 

 

P.S. In case you were wondering, this is why I only post dessert pictures. :)

P.S. In case you were wondering, this example of my dinner is why I only post dessert recipes. 🙂

One response to “Takin’ Requests

  1. Hee hee hee says:

    This blog took me down memory lane. In even more excited to visit this fall! I’m honored you wrote a blog about a cupcake I wanted! Lol. I only wish I had even there to try it:0P. You’ll have to make some with me when I visit!

Leave a Reply

